MARIELA EN EL DESIERTO

Genre: Drama
Written by Karen Zacarías, Directed by Jerry Ruíz

Mariela and José were once the golden couple of the Mexican artist inner-circle. Together

they built a family and an artist colony to host friends like Diego Rivera, Frida Kahlo,
and Rufino Tamayo. But now their daughter has grown and run away, Frida and Diego
are too famous to call, and artistic inspiration has been strangled by isolation and
mendacity. Set in an empty artists’ colony in the Mexican desert in 1950, this mystery
play reveals what happens to relationships when a long hidden family lie is exposed.
 
The production stars Zulema Clares (Best Actress Award at the Camaguey Theater
Festival) as Mariela, John Concado as Adam, Robert Hager (Bdwy: Bye Bye Birdie,
Spring Awakening) as Carlos, Maria Helán (Oliver Stone’s World Trade Center) as
Blanca, Alfredo Huereca (HOLA Best Actor and New York ACE Best Actor) as José,
and Teresa Yenque (Roundabout Theater Company, The Public, Lincoln Center) as
Oliva.
Preview:   02/03/12
Open:   02/06/12
Close:   03/24/12

Click for Schedule
click here to close

Friday, February 3 – 8pm
Saturday, February 4 – 8pm
Sunday, February 5 – 6:30pm
Monday, February 6 – 7pm
Friday, February 10 – 8pm
Sunday, February 12 – 6:30pm
Saturday, February 18 – 3pm
Sunday, February 19 – 6:30pm
Friday, March 2 – 8pm
Sunday, March 4 – 6:30pm
Sunday, March 11 – 6:30pm
Sunday, March 18 – 6:30pm
Saturday, March 24 – 8pm

Theater:   Repertorio Español’s Gramercy Arts Th
Address:   138 East 27 St
NY, NY
Google Maps
Cost:$27-50 (Seniors (65+) & Students with valid ID: $5-$10 discount)
Buy Tickets Online or Call: www.repertorio.org at 212-225-9999