ARMS AND THE MAN

Genre: Classical, Comedy
Written by George Bernard Shaw, Directed by Leah Bonvissuto

Theater Ten Ten continues its love affair with G. B. Shaw! This season we present one of his best known pieces “Arms and The Man” which was first produced on April 21, 1894, and published in 1898 as part of Shaw's Plays Pleasant volume. The play is a delightful comedy, and an exuberant take on love and war that is filled with Shaw’s usual razor sharp wit. It was one of Shaw's first commercial successes, and when he was called onto stage after the curtain he received enthusiastic applause. However, amidst the cheers, one audience member booed. Shaw replied, in characteristic fashion "My dear fellow, I quite agree with you, but what are we two against so many?" So many indeed! The play is as popular and relevant today as when it was first produced. And in an interesting side note…Shaw sold the rights to adapt the play into a Viennese operetta, certain that it would never be produced. However, it became an international hit as The Chocolate Soldier (1908). Leah Bonvissuto, who directed our “sold out” winter 2009 production of Shaw’s “The Philanderer” returns to the helm.


About the Company: Theater Ten Ten

Founded in 1955, Theater Ten Ten is New York City's longest consecutively operating Equity Theater Company, and an Arts Outreach Program of the Park Avenue Christian Church. It is dedicated to producing classic and contemporary plays and musicals and to providing a nurturing atmosphere for both emerging artists and seasoned professionals. The company is also committed to spreading awareness to all, educating youth, and using some nontraditional casting to allow more diversity and opportunities for women in the arts

Preview:   10/08/09
Open:   10/09/09
Close:   11/01/09

Click for Schedule
click here to close

Thursday, October 8 at 7pm - Preview
Friday, October 9 at 8pm - Opening
Saturday, October 10 at 8pm
Sunday, October 11 at 3pm
Monday, October 12 at 8pm

Thursday, October 15 at 7pm
Friday, October 16 at 8pm
Saturday, October 17 at 8pm
Sunday, October 18 at 3pm
Monday, October 19 at 8pm

Thursday, October 22 at 7pm
Friday, October 23 at 8pm
Saturday, October 24 at 8pm
Sunday, October 25 at 3pm
Monday, October 26 at 8pm

Wednesday, October 28 at 7pm
Thursday, October 29 at 7pm
Friday, October 30 at 8pm
Saturday, October 31 at 8pm
Sunday, November 1 at 3pm Final performance

Theater:   Theater Ten Ten
Address:   1010 Park Ave.
New York, NY 10028
Google Maps
Cost:$25.00
Buy Tickets Online or Call: TheaterMania at 212-352-3101
Company: Theater Ten Ten         Official Web Site: www.theater1010.com