ENEMIES, A LOVE STORY

Genre: Classical, Drama
by Isaac Bashevis Singer, adapted and directed by Slava Stepnov

"Enemies, a Love Story" is an adaptation of a shocking novel with unique characters and unpredictable sequence of events.

The action takes place in the New York Jewish community in the 1940s-1950s. Herman Broder, the main character, in a twisted turn of events, finds himself being a husband of three different women at the same time.
One of them - Yadwiga - is his former Polish peasant servant. The second one is his beloved mistress Masha. The third one is Tamara - his lawful wife, who he thought had been long dead.
Out of the blue, Tamara shows up in New York and finds Herman.
Each one of these women lays her claim on Herman, and each one is dear to him in her own way...

 

The Cast

Roman Freud
Tyree Giroux*
Susan Neuffer
Martina Potratz
Cristina Morrison
Ana Grose


Adapted and directed by Slava Stepnov
Music by John Zorn
Set and costumes - Uta Bekaia
Assistant Director - Kate Balandina
Sound Design - Kevin Losani


About the Company: Steps Theatre

STEPS, a multicultural theatre company founded in 1997 in New York by Slava Stepnov, works with actors and stage artists coming from different countries and schools. The Theatre produces plays in English, Russian and Spanish languages.

Open:   09/24/09
Close:   10/18/09

Click for Schedule
click here to close

September 24 (Thursday) 7:30pm
September 25 (Friday) 7:30pm
September 26 (Saturday) 6pm
October 1 (Thursday) 7:30pm
October 2 (Friday) 7:30pm
October 3 (Saturday) 6pm
October 8 (Thursday) 7:30pm
October 9 (Friday) 7:30pm
October 10 (Saturday) 6pm
October 16 (Friday) 7:30pm
October 17 (Saturday) 6pm
October 18 (Sunday) 6pm

Theater:   Philip Coltoff Center, Main Stage
Address:   219 Sullivan St.
New York, NY 10012
Google Maps
Cost:$18
Buy Tickets Online or Call: at
Company: Steps Theatre         Official Web Site: www.stepstheatre.com