A GRAND NIGHT FOR SINGING

Genre: Musical
Music by RICHARD RODGERS, Lyrics by OSCAR HAMMERSTEIN II, Directed by David Fuller

A Grand Night for Singing opened the 1994 Broadway season with flair and distinction, garnering wildly enthusiastic notices and a Tony nomination for Best Musical. With a cast of two men and three women, this revue explores romance and relationships using more than thirty Rogers and Hammerstein songs. Although each of R&H's musicals are represented, none of those songs' context or settings is retained: Rodgers & Hammerstein probably never imagined "Shall We Dance?" as a comic pas de deux, nor that one day a lovelorn lad might pose the musical question "How Do You Solve A Problem Like Maria?" That's precisely the kind of invention lavished upon this revue, with the innovative musical arrangements including a sultry Andrew Sisteresque "I'm Gonna Wash That Man Right Out'a My Hair," a swinging "Honeybun," and a jazzy "Kansas City" leaving no question about how terrifically up to date the remarkable songs of R&H remain. Theater Ten Ten's production is the first New York City professional revival since the original Broadway run. Under the stage direction of David Fuller and the musical direction of Michael Harren (who teamed on the much acclaimed Happy End last season) A Grand Night for Singing will be a whimsical and elegant journey through the stages of romance, from initial infatuation through enduring love.
About the Company: Theater Ten Ten

Founded in 1955, Theater Ten Ten is New York City's longest consecutively operating Equity Theater Company, and an Arts Outreach Program of the Park Avenue Christian Church. It is dedicated to producing classic and contemporary plays and musicals and to providing a nurturing atmosphere for both emerging artists and seasoned professionals. The company is also committed to spreading awareness to all, educating youth, and using some nontraditional casting to allow more diversity and opportunities for women in the arts

Preview:   04/25/08
Open:   04/26/08
Close:   05/25/08

Click for Schedule
click here to close

Friday, April 25 - 8pm PREVIEW
Saturday, April 26 - 8pm OPENING NIGHT
Sunday, April 27 - 3pm
Monday, April 28 - 8pm

Friday, May 2 - 8pm
Saturday, May 3 - 8pm
Sunday, May 4 - 3pm
Monday, May 5 - 8pm

Friday, May 9 - 8pm
Saturday, May 10 - 8pm
Sunday, May 11 - 3pm
Monday, May 12 - 8pm

Friday, May 16 - 8pm
Saturday, May 17 - 8pm
Sunday, May 18 - 3pm
Monday, May 19 - 8pm

Thursday, May 22 - 7pm EARLY CURTAIN
Friday, May 23 - 8pm
Saturday, May 24 - 8pm
Sunday, May 25 - 3pm FINAL PERFORMANCE

Theater:   Theater Ten Ten
Address:   1010 Park Ave.
New York, NY 10028
Google Maps
Cost:$20.00
Buy Tickets Online
Company: Theater Ten Ten         Official Web Site: www.theater1010.com