DEAD CITY

Genre: Drama
©Carol Rosegg
by Sheila Callaghan, directed by Daniella Topol

"DEAD CITY" is Sheila Callaghan's loose adaptation, more of a "riff," on Joyce's Ulysses. Samantha is a woman in her 40s who wakes up one June morning shadowed by regret. She wanders out of her Upper East Side apartment and begins a day's journey through the city, a day punctuated by a series of chance encounters with a mysterious near-stranger: Jewel, the poet-prodigy daughter of the guy who did her kitchen. By the time Samantha heads home in the middle of the night, the events of one long serendipitous New York City day have transformed her relationship to the everyday elements of her life.

About the Company: New Georges
New Georges (Susan Bernfield, Artistic Director; Sarah Cameron Sunde, Associate Director) the OBIE-winning theater company founded in 1992 produces highly theatrical new works by women.

Cast: Elizabeth Norment, Peter Rini, Shannon Burkett, Rebecca Hart, Dan Illian, April Matthis, Alfredo Narciso
Preview:   05/26/06
Open:   06/01/06
Close:   06/24/06

Click for Schedule
click here to close

Friday, May 26 at 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, May 27 at 8:00 p.m.
Tuesday, May 30 at 8:00 p.m.
Wednesday, May 31 at 4:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m.
Thursday, June 1 at 7:00 p.m. (Opening Night)
Friday, June 2 at 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, June 3 at 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, June 4 at 8:00 p.m.
Thursday, June 8 at 8:00 p.m.
Friday, June 9 at 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, June 10 at 8:00 p.m.
Monday, June 12 at 8:00 p.m. (pay-what-you-will performance)
Thursday, June 15 at 8:00 p.m.
Friday, June 16 at 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, June 17 at 8:00 p.m.
Sunday, June 18 at 8:00 p.m.
Monday, June 19 at 8:00 p.m. (pay-what-you-will performance)
Wednesday, June 21 at 8:00 p.m.
Thursday, June 22 at 8:00 p.m.
Friday, June 23 at 8:00 p.m.
Saturday, June 24 at 8:00 p.m.

Theater:   3LD Art & Technology Ctr.
Address:   80 Greenwich Street
New York, NY
Google Maps
Directions
click here to close

Subway Info: Take the 1 train to Rector Street

Cost:$19.00
Buy Tickets Online or Call: SmartTix at 212-868-4444
Company: New Georges