The New Group

Todays Date: 06/28/22
Last Update: 01/06/09 08:21:47 PM
User Login
Web Site:
Toggle View: Show Company Members

The New Group (Scott Elliott, Artistic Director; Geoff Rich, Executive Director): The 2008-2009 season kicked off with the U.S. premiere of Kevin Ellyot’s Mouth to Mouth. The company’s 2007-2008 season featured the premiere of Jonathan Marc Sherman’s Things We Want directed by Ethan Hawke, Mike Leigh’s Two Thousand Years and Ayub Khan-Din’s Rafta, Rafta…. The 2006-07 season featured Jay Presson Allen’s The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie, Wallace Shawn’s The Fever and Bernard Weinraub’s The Accomplices. The New Group is a recipient of the 2004 Tony® Award (Best Musical - Avenue Q).

Schedule of Upcoming Productions

No New Productions Scheduled

Production History

Mourning Becomes Electra  | Open: 01/27/09 Close: 04/01/09
Jealously, revenge, lust and longing are at the core of Mourning Becomes Electra, Eugene O’Neill’s epic retelling of the Greek myth of Orestes. When General Ezra Mannon and his son Orin return home following years of fighting in the Civil War, they find their family in strife and the home they’ve been pining for torn apart. Matriarch Christine is engaged in a battle of schemes with her daughter Lavina, whose loyalty to her father drives her to protect him at any cost, while a web of secrets, deception and unsavory actions threaten to consume the family. A classic tragedy laced with Freudian themes, Mourning Becomes Electra is an unparalleled tale of adultery, obsession, murder and madness.