The Flea

Todays Date: 06/27/22
Last Update: 12/20/08 04:00:26 PM
User Login
Web Site:
Toggle View: Show Company Members

Schedule of Upcoming Productions

No New Productions Scheduled

Production History

A Light Lunch  | Open: 12/12/08 Close: 01/25/09
Directed by Flea Artistic Director Jim Simpson

A LIGHT LUNCH is a post-Bush cautionary tale about the price paid for legacy. When a young lawyer from Texas invites a literary agent for lunch in a New York City restaurant, more than a production is on the table.

Says Simpson, "This charming topical comedy about the O generation couldn't come at a better time. I am delighted to work again with a playwright as adept as Gurney and who cares so passionately about the state of current affairs. He is also a great fan of The Bats and wrote this piece specifically for the young actors in the company."

A LIGHT LUNCH star four members of The Bats: Havilah Brewster, Beth Hoyt, Tom Lipinski, and John Russo. The design team includes John McDermott (sets), Miranda Hardy (lights), Erin Murphy (costumes) and Jill BC DuBoff (sound).

The Footage  | Open: 10/23/08 Close: 11/30/08
The Flea Theater announces the World Premiere of THE FOOTAGE. Written by Joshua Scher and directed by Claudia Zelevansky.

THE FOOTAGE exposes the dark underbelly of the YouTube generation and the insidious encroachment of online behavior in our everyday lives. This multi-media story roves between three groups of twenty-something friends whose lives intersect in the world of an MMORPG (Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game). The friends must race against the clock to decipher the on-line clues of a young woman's surreal abduction before the cameras stop rolling. THE FOOTAGE includes sexual content; not appropriate for children.

THE FOOTAGE features The Bats, the resident acting ensemble at The Flea: Elizabeth Alderfer, Celeste Arias, Blair Baker, Matthew Bretschneider, Jamie Effros, Nicolas Flower, Jessica Grant, Robert Grant, Michael Guagno, Laurel Holland, Caroline Hurley, Rachel McPhee, Dan McVey, Michael Micalizzi and Celina Reyes. The production features sets by Adrian W. Jones, lights by Ben Stanton, costumes by Erin Murphy, sound by Matt O'Hare, video design by Room404 Media, and machinima (real-time computer generated imagery) design by Brett Macaulay .