Theater Online - New York Theater Reviews

CalendarSearch by Date:
Current Reviews
No Current Reviews

Recent Reviews

Upcoming Reviews
Nothing Currently Scheduled

Screen Saver
Ever wonder how many Acting Companies have Web Sites? Here's a screen saver that will cycle through the Home Pages of Companies that have listed productions on this site.

Theatrical Companies
Screen Saver
Open: 12/05/17- Close: 12/19/17 AMP
Goode Productions (with Associate Producer Meredith Packer) will present the World Premiere of AMP, a solo horror piece written and performed by Jody Christopherson, directed by Isaac Byrne (The Other Mozart; In Vestments) at HERE (145 Avenue of the Americas, entrance on Dominick Street, one block south of Spring Street), December 5-19 with performances Tuesday, December 5 at 8:30pm, Wednesday, December 6 at 8:30pm, Thursday, December 7 at 8:30pm, Friday, December 8 at 8:30pm, Saturday, December 9 at 8:30pm, Sunday, December 10 at 4pm, Wednesday, December 13 at 8:30pm, Friday, December 15 at 8:30pm, Saturday, December 16 at 4pm, Sunday, December 17 at 4pm, and Tuesday, December 19 at 8:30pm.

Venue:
Here Arts Center : 145 Avenue of the Americas
Open: 11/29/17- Close: 12/20/17 GREENCARD WEDDING
Goode Productions (with Associate Producer Meredith Packer) will present the World Premiere of Greencard Wedding, an indie rock musical written by Jody Christopherson co-directed by Morgan Zipf-Meister at HERE (145 Avenue of the Americas, entrance on Dominick Street, one block south of Spring Street), November 29 -December 20 with performances Wednesday, November 29 at 8:30pm, Thursday, November 30 at 8:30pm, Friday, December 1 at 8:30pm, Saturday, December 2 at 8:30pm, Sunday, December 3 at 4pm, Saturday, December 9 at 4pm, Tuesday, December 12 at 8:30pm, Thursday, December 14 at 8:30pm, Saturday, December 16 at 8:30pm, and Wednesday, December 20 at 8:30pm. Tickets ($35) are available in advance at www.here.

Venue:
Here Arts Center : 145 Avenue of the Americas
Open: 12/03/17- Close: 12/20/17 HOLD THESE TRUTHS
Hang A Tale Theater Company (Producers Kim Martin-Cotten, Michael Arden Larson, and Jesse Liebman) will present a special engagement of Jeanne Sakata’s Hold These Truths, a solo play inspired by the life of Gordon Hirabayashi, directed by Lisa Rothe (Science Fair: An Opera with Experiments at HERE), at The Sheen Center for Thought & Culture (18 Bleecker Street at the corner of Elizabeth Street), December 3-20 with performances on Mon 12/4, Wed 12/6, Thu 12/7, Fri 12/8, Tue 12/12, Wed 12/13, Thu 12/14, Fri 12/15, Mon 12/18, Tue 12/19, and Wed 12/20 at 7:30pm; Sun 12/3, Sat 12/9, and Sat 12/16 at 2pm & 7:30pm; Sun 12/10 and Sun 12/17 at 2pm.

Venue:
Sheen Center : 18 Bleecker St
Open: 11/30/17- Close: 12/17/17 WHERE HAS TOMMY FLOWERS GONE?
Constructed as a series of vignettes, skits and brief incidents, the play portrays the life and attitude of one Tommy Flowers—irrepressible cut-up, determined freeloader and disenchanted rebel against society. In the course of his adventures he befriends a destitute old actor, acquires an oversized sheep dog (his best friend) and finds love with a beautiful music student (whom he meets in the ladies' room at Bloomingdale's). But as Tommy moves from scene to scene, his bright red shopping bag at the ready for pilfering, and his agile wit poised to hoodwink everyone in sight, we also glimpse the root causes of his alienation—his ailing, complaining mother back home; an unhappily married brother; a former girlfriend who has settled for a suffocating domesticity; and a venturing forth that has brought more rejection than acceptance.

Venue:
WorkShop Theatre : 312 W. 36th St.