IN THE PENAL COLONY

Genre: Drama
Written & Directed by Miranda Haymon

The Hodgepodge Group and producerLucy Powis will present Miranda Haymon’s In the Penal Colonyat NYTW’s Fourth Street Theatre(79 East 4thStreet between Bowery and 2ndAvenue, New York, NY 10003), July 11-28. Performances will be on Thursday, July 11 at 7:30pm, Friday, July 12 at 7:30pm, Saturday, July 13 at 2pm, Saturday, July 13 at 7:30pm, Sunday, July 14 at 2pm, Sunday, July 14 at 7:30pm, Tuesday, July 16 at 7:30pm, Wednesday, July 17 at 7:30pm, Thursday, July 18 at 7:30pm, Friday, July 19 at 7:30pm, Saturday, July 20 at 2pm, Saturday, July 20 at 7:30pm, Sunday, July 21 at 2pm, Sunday, July 21 at 7:30pm, Tuesday, July 23 at 7:30pm, Wednesday, July 24 at 7:30pm, Thursday, July 25 at 7:30pm, Friday, July 26 at 7:30pm, Saturday, July 27 at 2pm, Saturday, July 27 at 7:30pm, and Sunday, July 28 at 2pm. Tickets ($35 General; $45 Premium)are available for advance purchase at www.nytw.orgor by calling 212-460-5475. The performance will run approximately 70 minutes, with no intermission. 

 

Adapted from Franz Kafka's short story of the same name, In the Penal Colonyinvestigates the performance of power, patriarchy and punishment. Three black men convene in an unnamed penal colony, asking what it means for them to exist in the media, when observed, when consumed, when punished.

 

The cast will feature Jamar Brathwaite (Much Ado About Nothing at The Public Theater; The Three Musketeerswith Classical Theater of Harlem),David Glover(The Feverat La MaMa; Vandalsat The Tank), and Dhari Noel (Telegraph Boisat Ars Nova; Floater, Ride with Cherry Picking) with Set Design by Emmie Finckel(Athena at JACK;Riot Antigone at La MaMa), Lighting Design by Cha See(Cute Activist at Bushwick Starr;The Triumphant with Target Margin Theatre), and Sound Design by Valentine Monfeuga(Let’s Get Ready Togetherat The Tank; Assistant on The Rape of the Sabine Women, By Grace B. Matthias with The Playwrights Realm). 

 

In the Penal Colonyis part ofNext Door at NYTW which provides a home for companies and artists who are producing their own work. This initiative provides each project with subsidized resources and space for development and performance in the Fourth Street Theatre. As part of an ongoing effort to expand support for artists at every stage of their careers, this series served over 300 artists in the first two years alone.

Open:   07/11/19
Close:   07/27/19

Schedule:
Tue-Sun at 7:30pm; Sat & Sun at 2pm:
7/11/2019
7/12/2019
7/13/2019
7/14/2019
7/16/2019
7/17/2019
7/18/2019
7/19/2019
7/20/2019
7/21/2019
7/23/2019
7/24/2019
7/25/2019
7/26/2019
7/27/2019
Theater:   4th Street Theatre
Address:   83 East 4th Street
New York, NY 10003
Google Maps
Cost:$35
Buy Tickets Online or Call: NYTW at